Monday, July 02, 2007

News: Green groups want DENR revamp in Caraga

“Manipulations by moneyed illegal loggers in getting legal documents such as log transportation and cutting permits from local DENR offices all over Caraga have been on going for years and must be put to an end," the groups said.

“Alleged illegal logging activities in Caraga do not only destroy our future but also deprive the government of revenues from these illegal loggers who pose as legitimate wood traders but are actually smugglers of (illegally) cut woods," the groups added.

Caraga, noted for its wood-based economy, is composed of five provinces namely Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Dinagat Islands, Surigao del Norte and Surigao del Sur and the cities of Butuan, Surigao and Bislig. Read more...

No comments :