Monday, March 19, 2007

Solons of new districts to be elected on May 14

Six new members of the House of Representatives will be among those to be elected in the May 14 elections to represent newly created legislative districts in four provinces in Mindanao and two cities in Metro Manila.

The Commission on Elections (Comelec) led by Chairman Benjamin S. Abalos Sr. said the additional legislative districts are in the provinces of Sultan Kudarat, Zamboanga Sibugay, Shariff Kabunsuan, and Dinagat, and in Marikina City and Taguig City.

Muslim Mindanao Autonomy Act No. 201 created the province of Shariff Kabunsuan with one legislative district, while RA 9355 created the province of Dinagat with a lone legislative district out of the first district of Surigao del Norte and converted Surigao del Norte into one legislative district. Read More.

No comments :