Monday, December 04, 2006

A New Province In Caraga

In a plebiscite held last Saturday, the voters of Dinagat Island overwhelmingly approved the to make the island as the fifth province of Caraga Region. The new province will be composed of seven municipalities, namely: 1.) Dinagat, 2.) Loreto, 3.) Basilisa, 4.) Cagdianao, 5.) Libjo, 6.) San Jose, and 7.) Tubajon.

Under the law, Dinagat will assume its status as a province after sixty days from the plebiscite. The local officials shall be appointed by the President of the Philippines and shall hold office until the next local election. Click for more.

No comments :